Emerge graduation 2019

Stephany Rose Spaulding, at right, accepts her graduation certificate from Emerge Colorado board member Arriana Belkin, center, as executive director Michal Rosenoer looks on.

Emerge Colorado has graduated 26 more women who have their eyes set on public office.

The annual six-month fellowship program for Democratic women held its commencement ceremony at the Washington Street Community Center in Denver on Sunday.

Since its inception in 2012, Emerge Colorado’s more than 300 alumnae have won 88% of their races office across the state, including 15 statehouse races. Currently there are 49 former Emerge graduates in elected office.

“When women are trained and encouraged to run, women win, and this group of fresh political leaders are just what our state needs to chart a path forward to a brighter, more just future for us all,” Michal Rosenoer, executive director of Emerge Colorado, said in a statement.

“The women who go through our training program are the rising stars in Colorado’s political world. If you don’t know them yet, just wait. You will. We cannot wait to see what this exceptional class of 2019 will do next.”

Emerge Colorado’s Class of 2019 is:

  • Kim Akeley-Charron, 2020 candidate for Larimer County Commission
  • Stephany Rose Spaulding, 2020 candidate for U.S. Senate
  • Jennifer Allen Thomas, 2019 candidate for Commerce City Council
  • Lynn Baca, Brighton City Councilor and 2020 candidate for Adams County Commission
  • Candi CdeBaca, Denver City Councilor-elect
  • Marta Loachamin, 2020 candidate for Boulder County Commission
  • Sheela Mahnke, Westminster City Council, 2019 re-election
  • Jillian Freeland, 2020 candidate for Colorado’s 5th Congressional District
  • Alison Coombs, 2019 candidate for Aurora City Council
  • Darien Wilson, 2020 candidate for Douglas County Commission
  • Cheryl Wink, Englewood City Councilor
  • Auset Ali
  • Iman Jodeh
  • Porta Prescott
  • Shayla Richard
  • LaMone Noles
  • Kristen Seidel
  • Karlyn Shorb
  • Danielle Kombo
  • Jessica Zender
  • Shenika Carter
  • Yesenia Mora Plata
  • Katrice Traylor
  • Catherine Fink Johnson
  • Linnea Reed Ellis

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.