Jason Crow

U.S. Rep. Jason Crow, D-Aurora, speaks at a news conference on Capitol Hill in Washington on Jan. 17.

Not surprisingly, the left-leaning national League of Conservation Voters is eager to keep Democrats in charge of the U.S. House. To that end, on Wednesday it named U.S. Rep. Jason Crow of Aurora one of its Environmental Majority Makers.

All 16 are Democratic freshmen who hail from battleground districts.

Crow unseated long-term Republican incumbent Mike Coffman last November, and the GOP will try hard to reclaim that seat in the diverse district next year.

Besides his party affiliation, Crow has stood up for issues the League of Conservation Voters likes.

 "From introducing the SAVE Energy Act to increase investment in clean energy to co-sponsoring the Climate Action Now Act to restore American leadership in the global fight against the climate crisis, Rep. Crow has fought for the health of Colorado communities since day one," Tiernan Sittenfeld, senior vice president of government affairs for the LCV Action Fund, said in a statement Wednesday.

> RELATED: Rep. Crow bill seeks tax credits for energy-efficient home improvements

Kelly Nordini, executive director of Conservation Colorado, the state's largest environmental organization, piled onto the national endorsement from the left.

"In a state like Colorado -- a state where energy and the environment were the top issue for voters in 2018 -- it's fitting that we are represented by conservation champions like Rep. Jason Crow," she stated. "We applaud the congressman for earning LCV Action Fund’s endorsement and look forward to our continued work together to elevate Colorado as a national model for climate and clean energy action."

Other Majority Makers are Reps. Sean Casten of Illinois,  Joe Cunningham of South Carolina, Sharice Davids of Kansas, Antonio Delgado of New York, Andy Kim of New Jersey, Tom Malinowski of New Jersey, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell of Florida, Chris Pappas of New Hampshire, Xochitl Torres Small of New Mexico, and Susan Wild of Pennsylvania, as well as California Reps. Gil Cisneros, Katie Hill, Mike Levin, Katie Porter and Harley Rouda.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.