Carol Pace of Denver received this year's Andrus Award for Community Service from AARP Colorado this week, as the association recognized the volunteers who advocate for older residents.

AARP characterized the Andrus Award as its highest volunteer recognition. 

“This award is a symbol of the power of individuals to make a difference in the lives of others,” AARP Colorado state director Bob Murphy said in a statement. “In the true spirit of Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, we are thrilled to name Carol Pace the 2019 AARP Andrus Award winner.”

Pace has volunteered as the lead advocate on AARP Colorado’s advocacy team and as a tax-preparer in its program. "With an eye on health care for all, Pace is an AARP advocacy volunteer who is a true leader," AARP said in a press release. "She works tirelessly for older adults and those with lower incomes, and she is tenacious about it."

AARP said her testimony to the Colorado legislature "has resulted in significant statewide contributions in the areas of accessibility, affordability, safety, and security of health care for Colorado seniors. She is particularly passionate about the necessity for strong oversight and advocacy for Colorado’s rural areas and their need for affordable and available health care."

Pace also volunteers for the Colorado League of Women Voters and coaches Denver Public School students in speech and debate.

AARP also recognized Joe Pells of Denver as this year's lifetime achievement award winner. His work has included volunteering on the AARP Foundation Colorado Consumer Fraud Prevention Call Center in Denver and making about 90 phone calls a week to warn seniors about scams.

Other volunteers recognized at a ceremony Tuesday evening were:

  • Dr. Mary Fries, Legislative Volunteer of the Year.
  • Mary Lou Doehrman Bride/New Falcon Herald of Colorado Springs, AARP Business Award.
  • JJ Jordan/Dementia Friendly Denver, AARP Community Partner.
  • The AARP Program Strategic Award Winners: Stephen Blucher, Nicole Kain, John Giarratano, John Rodwick,  Terri Potente and Merry Weis.
  • The AARP Community Service Award winners: Jim and Lori Belk, John Joffrion, Jerome Kerrigan, Lauren Kubin, Dr. Ruth Fletcher-Carter, and Rocky Williams.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.