Denver Mayor Michael Hancock

Denver Mayor Michael Hancock at Colorado Gov. Jared Polis' State of the State address to a joint session of the Colorado Legislature Jan. 10.

The field for the next mayor of Denver narrowed from nine to six Thursday as the city clerk’s office declared who had submitted enough petition signatures to be placed on the May 7 ballot.

Those candidates will include incumbent Michael Hancock and challengers Lisa Calderon, Stephan "Seku" Evans, Jamie Giellis, Kalyn Rose Heffernan and Penfield Tate III.

Tate will appear at the top of the ballot as a result of a random drawing conducted at the Elections Division on Thursday. The drawing had been delayed one day due to Wednesday’s snow storm.

There is no correlation between ballot position and electoral victory. Nonetheless, Tate said he was happy for the top spot.

"I'm pleased," he said. "We have a lot more work to make sure voters turn out and vote us in to office."

The ballot will not include "Marcus" Giavanni, Leatha Scott and Kevin Raymond Simpson, who had pulled petitions but did not place. They still have the option of running as write in candidates.

The drawing of the ballot positions drew a crowd of about 60 people. It's an annual social event with candidates turning out with their children and supporters, cheering no matter the ballot position.

In the other city-wide races:

  • Three candidates will vie for city clerk and recorder: Paul D. Lopez, Sarah O. McCarthy and Peg Perl.
  • Six candidates are running for two at-large council seats: incumbents Robin Kniech and Deborah L. Ortega, and challengers Johnny Hayes, Jesse Lashawn Parris, Tony Pigford and Lynne Langdon.
  • Auditor Timothy O’ Brien is running unopposed.

There are several contested City Council seats.

  • In District 1, the candidates include: Victoria R. Aguilar, Sabrina D’Agosta, Scott Alan Durrah, Praj Kulkarni, David Sabados, Amanda Sandoval and Michael Somma.
  • In District 3, the candidates are: Veronica Barela, Annie Martinez, Raymond Montoya and Jamie Torres.
  • In District 4, incumbent Kendra Black is opposed by challenger Colleen Zahradnicek.
  • In District 5, incumbent Mary Beth Susman faces challengers Michele Fry, Stephen Replin and Amanda Sawyer.
  • In District 8, incumbent Christopher Herndon is opposed by challengers Miguel Adrian Ceballos-Ruiz, Erik Penn, LaMone Noles, Blair Taylor and Patrick F. Thibault.
  • In District 9, incumbent Albus Brooks faces challengers Candi CdeBaca, David Oletski  and Jonathan Patrick Woodley
  • In District 10, incumbent Wayne New is opposed by Christopher Hinds, Antonio A. Mendez, and Tony Smith.
  • In District 11, incumbent Stacie Gilmore and challenger Christine M. Alonzo will face off.

Running unopposed are Council members Kevin Flynn in District 2, Paul Kashman in District 6 and Jolon Clark in District 7.

Ballots for the election will be mailed out on April 15.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.