state hemp

A hemp field in the San Luis Valley. 

Colorado's Department of Agriculture has unveiled a new online portal for hemp growers seeking to submit applications and payments.

“Colorado leads the nation in registered land area for industrial hemp cultivation,” said Brian Koontz, the hemp program manager. “This new registration process will help us continue to stand as a leader in the industry.”

So far, CDA has processed 2,634 hemp registrations. This year, registrations have totaled 89,743 outdoor acres and 15.4 million square feet of indoor grow space.

Last month, the U.S. Department of Agriculture released an interim final rule pertaining to the testing regime for hemp crops. Industrial hemp can contain no more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol. THC is the main psychoactive ingredient in cannabis, but consumable marijuana contains much higher concentrations.

Registration costs for hemp growers include a $500 application fee, plus $5 per outdoor acre or $3 for each 1,000 square feet indoors. There is no minimum quantity of hemp that can be grown without a license. 

“Even though the 2018 Farm Bill removed Hemp from the Controlled Substance Act, it did not de-regulate it,” CDA cautions applicants.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.