Todd, Nancy.jpg

Colorado state Sen. Nancy Todd, D-Aurora.

Sen. Nancy Todd, D-Aurora, was elected Senate President Pro Tempore by a unanimous vote on Friday. She was the only nominee for the position.

Todd is serving her second term in the Senate and is term-limited at the end of this year. She replaces Sen. Lois Court, D-Denver, who resigned effective Thursday to deal with an autoimmune disorder.

Todd also chairs two Senate committees: education and joint technology, and is also a member of three others: audit, finance and appropriations. 

Rep. Chris Hansen, D-Denver, was elected on Thursday to replace Court in the Senate District 31 vacancy. Hansen is due to be sworn in on Tuesday, according to Senate President Leroy Garcia, D-Pueblo. A Democratic vacancy committee in House District 6 will pick his successor. 

The President Pro tem acts as the presiding officer of the Senate when the Senate President is unavailable. Court was elected to that position at the beginning of the 2019 session.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.