McKean Bird

Minority Leader Hugh McKean, R-Loveland, and Rep. Shannon Bird, D-Westminster, at the Colorado BioScience Association’s Innovation Forward: Forum + Awards Celebration

A bipartisan group of four Front Range lawmakers have been honored as the Colorado BioScience Association’s Legislators of the Year.

The organization opted to recognize House Minority Leader Hugh McKean, R-Loveland, Rep. Shannon Bird, D-Westminster, and Sens. Jim Smallwood, R-Parker, and Chris Hansen, D-Denver, for “their leadership on issues critical to Colorado’s life sciences ecosystem.”

“This includes work to preserve and restore funding for the Advanced Industries Accelerator Grant Program, which is a critical source of non-dilutive funding for researchers and early-to-mid-stage companies,” said CBSA Vice President Michael Crews.

The awards were presented to the quartet of lawmakers on Tuesday at CBSA’s Innovation Forward: Forum + Awards Celebration.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.