Colorado Democratic Party Chair Morgan Carroll, right, visits with Democrats at the party's Obama Dinner fundraiser on Saturday, March 9, 2019, at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel. Earlier in the day, Carroll was elected to a second, two-year term heading the party.

On the heels of sweeping wins up and down the ballot in the last general election, Colorado Democrats decided to give Morgan Carroll another term as state party chair at the party's biennial reorganization meeting Saturday in Denver.

Carroll, a former state senator and one-time congressional nominee, was elected without opposition to her second, two-year term by the Democrats' state central committee, which convened at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel.

Later that night Democrats heard from prominent elected officials and honored party luminaries with a slew of awards at its annual Obama Dinner.

Colorado Democrats took every statewide office on the ballot in November and won control of both chambers of the General Assembly — marking the first time the party won all the levers of state government since 1938.

"Are you ready to finish the job in 2020?" Carroll asked the crowd of more than 1,200 packed into a ballroom for the fundraiser.

"The lacing up your shoes, picking up your clipboards and knocking on doors in every corner of the state of Colorado paid off," wrote Barack Obama in a letter read at the dinner, which was renamed last year after the former president and first lady Michelle Obama.

U.S. Reps. Adam Schiff of California, the chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, and Debra Haaland of New Mexico, one of two newly elected lawmakers who are the first Native American women to serve in Congress, addressed the crowd.

In addition to Carroll, the central committee elected eight statewide party officers: Howard Chou, 1st vice chair; Sandy Baca-Sandoval, 2nd vice chair; Xochitl ‘Sochi’ Gaytan and Jeremy Van Hooser, vice chairs for outreach; Sheila Canfield-Jones, vice chair for rural outreach; Patricia Barela Rivera, vice chair for communications; Bob Seay, secretary; and Susan Shepherd, treasurer.

The vice chairs for outreach, rural outreach and communications are new positions.

"These nine officers for the state Democratic Party will be tasked with working with our county and local parties to help register and turnout voters, and will be vital in our mission to defeat Donald Trump and Cory Gardner in 2020," the party said in a statement.

Awards were bestowed on the following Democrats at the dinner:

Democrat of the Year: U.S. Rep. Joe Neguse

Rising Star Award: Secretary of State Jena Griswold

Murphy Roberts Young Volunteer of the Year Award: Tay Anderson

Outreach Awards: Sandy Baca-Sandoval, Maya Wheeler and Portia Prescott

Rural Outreach Awards: Joy Harrison and Howard Wallach

Lifetime Achievement Award: Former state Sens. Polly Baca and Irene Aguilar

Volunteer of the Year Awards: Stephanie Brooke Chavez, Candy Kane, Laura Richards and Jessica Zender

Chair's Service Award: Mannie Rodriguez

Chair's Milestone Award: Henry Strauss

Colorado Republicans are set to elect statewide officers at a central committee meeting on March 30 at Englewood High School.

The night before, the GOP is scheduled to hear from keynoter Grover Norquist, the founder of Americans for Tax Reform, at its annual Centennial Dinner at the Hilton Inverness Hotel in the Denver Tech Center.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.