Close-up Of Gavel On Wooden Desk justice court law

The Judicial Department is accepting applications for vacancies on the citizen-led judicial nominating commissions that recommend state judges and justices to the governor.

Through the end of the year, there will be a total of 32 vacancies in most of the state's 22 judicial districts plus the statewide commission that screens applicants for the Court of Appeals and Colorado Supreme Court. Non-lawyers comprise a majority of each panel.

According to the National Center for State Courts, Colorado is one of 12 states that uses a commission to select judicial finalists, followed by an appointment from the governor and a retention election. Other states, by contrast, elect judges on a partisan or nonpartisan basis, or require legislative confirmation of judges.

Colorado's nominating commission members are volunteers who serve six-year terms. The panels interview applicants and forward two or three finalists to the governor for trial court vacancies, and three finalists for appellate vacancies. The governor selects non-lawyers for the commissions, while the attorney general, chief justice and governor appoint the lawyers.

The judicial districts with vacancies — and the number and type of vacancy — are:

  • First Judicial District (Gilpin and Jefferson counties) – one attorney
  • Second Judicial District (Denver) – one attorney, one non-attorney
  • Third Judicial District (Huerfano and Las Animas counties) – one attorney, one non-attorney
  • Fourth Judicial District (El Paso and Teller counties) – two non-attorneys
  • Fifth Judicial District (Clear Creek, Eagle, Lake and Summit counties) – one attorney, two non-attorneys (one must reside in Clear Creek County)
  • Seventh Judicial District (Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel counties) – three non-attorneys (one must reside in Delta County, one must reside in San Miguel County)
  • Eighth Judicial District (Jackson and Larimer counties) – one attorney
  • Ninth Judicial District (Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco counties) – one attorney
  • 10th Judicial District (Pueblo County) – one non-attorney
  • 11th Judicial District (Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, and Park counties) – one non-attorney
  • 12th Judicial District (Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande and Saguache counties) – one non-attorney (must reside in Saguache County)
  • 15th Judicial District (Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, and Prowers counties) – two attorneys
  • 16th Judicial District (Bent, Crowley and Otero counties) – one attorney, one non-attorney
  • 17th Judicial District (Adams and Broomfield counties) – one non-attorney
  • 18th Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties) – one attorney
  • 19th Judicial District (Weld County) – two non-attorneys
  • 20th Judicial District (Boulder County) – two non-attorneys
  • 21st Judicial District (Mesa County) – one attorney, one non-attorney
  • 22nd Judicial District (Dolores and Montezuma counties) – one non-attorney
  • Supreme Court – one non-attorney for the Fifth Congressional District

Review of applications begins on October 5 and continues until the seats are filled.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.