Virus Outbreak Colorado

FILE—In this Thursday, May 28, 2020, file photograph, Colorado Governor Jared Polis puts on his face mask after a news conference about the state's efforts against the new coronavirus in Denver. During a news conference Tuesday, June 2, 2020, Polis said that the state is adding more than 800 new contact tracers to Colorado's coronavirus testing effort. (AP Photo/David Zalubowski, File)

Here's a look at some face mask regulations around Colorado amid the coronavirus pandemic. Note: This list may not include all mask requirements, and mask requirements are subject to change.

ASPEN

Required areas: Aspen City Council mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 2

End date: July 15

Penalty: First offense, $50 fine

BOULDER

Required areas: Boulder City Council mandated masks be worn inside public areas and on outdoor on patios and in courtyards.

Who: Those with written medical permission are exempt.

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Business that do not comply can be shut down.

BOULDER COUNTY

Required areas: Boulder County mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 12

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: $5,000 fine and up to one year in jail.

BRECKENRIDGE:

Breckenridge has a mandatory mask zone that's downtown and a nightly business curfew. Read more here.

DENVER

Required areas: Mayor Michael Hancock mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 2

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: First offense, fines up to $999

ENGLEWOOD

Required areas: Englewood City Council ordered masks be worn inside public areas and when taking public transportation.

Who: People older than 6

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: First offense, $15 fine

FORT COLLINS

Required areas: Fort Collins City Manager Darin Atteberr ordered masks be worn inside public areas, when taking public transportation, and when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible except for banks and pawnshops.

Who: People older than 10

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Fine up to $3,000

GLENWOOD SPRINGS

Required areas: Glenwood Springs City Council mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 2

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail

LAFAYETTE

Required areas: Lafayette City Council mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 13

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Possible fine

LARIMER COUNTY

Required areas: Larimer County mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

Who: People older than 2

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Not specified

LOUISVILLE

Required areas: Louisville City Council mandated masks be worn inside public areas.

Who: People older than 2

End date: Aug. 30

Penalty: Court summons or losing business license

NORTHGLENN

Required areas: Northglenn City Council ordered masks be worn inside public areas except for banks and pawnshops.

Who: People older than 3

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Not specified

OURAY COUNTY

Required areas: Ouray County requires masks to be worn when entering, waiting in line to enter, and while inside "any place of business or facility engaged in any sales or other transactions of any kind to the general public." The order also includes any building or indoor facility owned or operated by the county, and the towns of Ridgway and Ouray.

Who: People older than 3

End date: August 1

Penalty: $5,000 fine and up to 18 months in jail.

ROUTT COUNTY 

Required areas: Routt County Board of Commissioners mandated masks be worn inside businesses.

Who: No exemptions

End date: July 31

Penalty: $5,000 fine and up to 18 months in jail

SUMMIT COUNTY 

Required areas: Summit County mandated masks be worn inside public areas and outdoors when 6 feet of social distancing isn’t possible.

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: $5,000 fine and up to 18 months in jail

SUPERIOR 

Required areas: The town of Superior mandated masks be worn inside businesses.

Who: No exemptions

End date: Indefinite

Penalty: Not specified

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.